Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer company, is voluntarily recalling lots 72680LL and 76510LL of Naloxone Hydrochloride Injection, USP, 0.4 mg/mL, 1 mL in 2.5 mL, Carpuject Single-use cartridge syringe system (NDC 0409-1782-69), to the hospital/institution level due to the potential presence of embedded and loose particulate matter on the syringe plunger. These Lot numbers have already been found in WVEMS Drug Boxes in the Region. 

Click here for the FDA Recall


ems logo trans  EMS Regional Awards     NSPA sm logo web new

ROANOKE-May 31, 2018: The Western Virginia EMS Council and the Near Southwest Preparedness Alliance joined last night to present awards to outstanding persons, programs and organizations in several categories. You can view the live stream of this event on FACEBOOK. (Special thanks to Heidi Hooker and Ryan Scarbrough of the Old Dominion EMS Alliance for providing the live streaming services!) The 2018 winners are:

For the Near Southwest Preparedness Alliance Healthcare Preparedness Awards

  • Outstanding Individual - Becky McCabe, Virginia Department of Health, Western Region Emergency Coordinator
  • Outstanding Organization - Virginia Veterans Care Center
  • Outstanding Partner - City of Lynchburg Department of Emergency Services, Emergency Management
  • Legacy Award - Charles Lane, MD, Carilion Clinic Emergency Medicine

For the Western Virginia EMS Council Regional EMS Awards

  • Outstanding EMS Telecommunications Dispatcher - Devon Frazier, New River Valley Emergency Communications Regional Authority
  • Outstanding Prehospital Provider - Matt Sacra, Roanoke County Fire & Rescue
  • Outstanding EMS Administrator - Dave English, Blacksburg Volunteer Rescue Squad
  • Nurse with Outstanding Contribution to EMS - Sara Beth Dinwiddie, Carilion Clinic
  • Outstanding Prehospital Educator - Paul (PJ) Fleenor, Blacksburg Volunteer Rescue Squad
  • Outstanding EMS Agency - Vinton First Aid Crew
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior ($1,000 scholarship) - Connor Moran, Christiansburg Rescue 
  • Dr. Cheryl B. Haas Award for Outstanding EMS Physician - Paul Frantz, M.D., Carilion Clinic Cardiac Services
  • Outstanding Contribution to EMS Emergency Preparedness and Response - Near Southwest Medical Reserve Corps
  • Award for Excellence in EMS - Jason Ferguson, Botetourt County Fire & EMS
  • Benny Summerlin Award for Service to Local Government - Steven D. Eanes, Henry County Sheriff's Department 

Congratulations all of the nominees, and especially to all of this year's winners! 


Our own WVEMS Field Coordinator, Mike Garnett was featured in the news in Montgomery County with the Stop the Bleed national awareness campaign! You can see the news story here: 

Launched in 2015 by the White House, Stop the Bleed is a national awareness campaign and call to action. Stop the Bleed is intended to cultivate grassroots efforts that encourage bystanders to become trained, equipped, and empowered to help in a bleeding emergency before professional help arrives. No matter how rapid the arrival of professional emergency responders, bystanders will always be first on the scene. A person who is bleeding can die from blood loss within five minutes, therefore it is important to quickly stop the blood loss. According to a recent National Academies of Science study, trauma is the leading cause of death for Americans under age 46.

You can find more information on the Stop the Bleed Awareness Campain by clicking here or you can contact our office!

Page 1 of 3

Upcoming Events From Our Calendar

Back To Top