Board of Directors

WVEMS Board of Directors Roster (term expirations)

City of Roanoke - Jim Cady, Jr. (12-31-21)
City of Salem - Marlon M. (Matt) Rickman (12-31-22)
City of Radford - Rodney Haywood (12-31-22)
City of Covington - Dwaine Paxton (12-31-22)
City of Martinsville - Kristopher Shrader (12-31-21)
City of Danville - Michael Jefferson (12-31-23)
Botetourt County - Jason Ferguson (12-31-22)
Montgomery County - Joe Coyle (12-31-23)
Pulaski County - L. Joseph Trigg (12-31-22)
Floyd County - Philip Belcher (12-31-22)
Alleghany County - Ryan Muterspaugh (12-31-21)
Roanoke County - Don Altice (12-31-21)
Craig County - James Cady, Sr. (12-31-21)
Giles County - Larry Lafon (12-31-21)
Franklin County - William (Billy) Ferguson (12-31-21)
Henry County - Matthew Tatum (12-31-23)
Patrick County - Steve Allen (12-31-23)
Pittsylvania County - Chris Slemp (12-31-22)
*Emergency Physician at-large - Eric Stanley, DO (12-31-21)
Emergency Nurses Association - Gary Meadows, RN, BS (12-31-21)
Virginia Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads, Inc. - Carey Harveycutter (12-31-23)
Near Southwest Preparedness Alliance - Robert Hawkins (concurrent with position)
*At-large, Fourth Planning District - Valerie Tweedie (12-31-21)
*At-large, Fifth Planning District - Richard Flora (12-31-23)
*At-large, Twelfth Planning District - **Marcus Stone, R.N. (12-31-23)
Regional Medical Director - Charles J. Lane, M.D. (concurrent with position)
Executive Director - Stephen Simon (non-voting) (concurrent with position)

*Elected Director

**Eligible for second term

All others are appointed by the bodies they represent.

Executive Committee

President - Joe Trigg
Vice President - Mike Jefferson
Secretary - Matt Rickman
Treasurer - Val Tweedie
Executive Director - Stephen Simon
At-large, Fourth Planning District - Joe Coyle
At-large, Fifth Planning District - Carey Harveycutter
At-large, Twelfth Planning District - Kris Shrader

The Board normally meets on the Second Thursday of the third month of each calendar quarter. Meetings are open to the public, and guests are welcome.

Meetings are generally held at the Salem Civic Center, Parlor C. Meetings begin promptly at 2:00 PM. Meeting locations subject to change. Please call 800.972.4367 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to confirm.


  Schedule of Upcoming Meetings

September 9, 2021

December 9. 2021

March 10, 2022

June 9, 2022

September 8, 2022

December 8, 2022


This organization is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit, tax exempt organization.  It is an integral part of Virginia's comprehensive EMS system. It serves to assess, identify, coordinate, plan and implement efficient and effective regional EMS delivery systems in partnership with Virginia's Office of Emergency Medical Services and EMS Advisory Board.

Back To Top